Every physician [all MAG members] wins or advances to runoff in Georgia primary elections

Medical Association of Georgia (MAG) Government Relations Director Derek Norton reports that every physician who was a candidate for elected office at the state or federal level either won or received enough votes to advance to a runoff election in yesterday’s primary election. 

Republican Rich McCormick, M.D., won his primary election for U.S. Congress for Georgia’s 7th District with 55 percent of the vote – so no runoff is required.     

Republican John Cowan, M.D., received 20 percent of the vote and will advance to a runoff for U.S. Congress for Georgia’s 14th District.

Democrat Michelle Au, M.D., MPH, received 76 percent of the vote for Georgia Senate’s District 48 – so no runoff is required.     

Republican W. Scott Bohlke, M.D., received nearly 40 percent of the vote, keeping in mind that he is a candidate in two races – including a special election to complete the unexpired term of Sen. Jack Hill (who passed away on April 6) for the Georgia Senate 4th District seat and the primary election for the next full term for the Georgia Senate 4th District seat. Both runoffs will take place on August 11, and whoever wins the runoff for the special election will hold the office until January, 2021.

Republican Betty Price, M.D., ran unopposed in the primary election for the Georgia House of Representatives’ 48th District seat.

Incumbent Georgia Sens. Ben Watson, M.D. (R-Savannah), Dean Burke, M.D. (R-Bainbridge), and Kay Kirkpatrick, M.D. (R-Marietta), and Georgia Rep. Mark Newton, M.D. (R-Augusta) were unopposed in their primary elections.  

All are MAG members.

“Seeing more physicians run for office is one of MAG’s strategic objectives, so this is a banner day for both MAG and the medical profession,” says Norton. “There simply isn’t a better or more effective way to influence public policy or improve our health care system to ensure that every patient has access to the medical care that they need.”

The runoff elections will take place on Tuesday, August 11, while the general election will take place on Tuesday, November 3 – with the advance, in-person voting period beginning on October 12.

Contact Norton at dnorton@mag.org with any questions.

Click for complete election results

Dr. Au campaign website

Dr. Bohlke campaign website

Dr. Burke campaign website

Dr. Cowan campaign website

Dr. Kirkpatrick website

Dr. McCormick campaign website

Dr. Newton campaign website

Dr. Price campaign website

Dr. Watson campaign website