MAG wins AAMSE award for ‘Top Docs Radio’ show

The American Association of Medical Society Executives distributed the following press release on August 1…

The American Association of Medical Society Executives (AAMSE) recognized medical societies for their contributions to medical society management through their ninth annual Profiles of Excellence (PoE) Awards program. The PoE Awards recognize organizations for their efforts that advance the field of organized medicine and improve the lives of physicians and the patients they serve.

A judging panel consisting of AAMSE members reviewed submissions and awarded recipients for excellence in five areas of medical society management: advocacy, education, communication, leadership and membership, with separate divisions for societies with budgets over $2 million and budgets under $2 million.

“Medical societies play a critical role in advancing the practice of physicians and supporting them in their work,” said Steve Smith, president of AAMSE. “The programs recognized with this year’s Profiles of Excellence awards are unique, exceptional and innovative.”

The 2019 award recipients are…

President’s Award for Innovative Engagement Within Organized Medicine – Awarded to the Collier County Medical Society for its Patient Choice Community Education Campaign, which mobilized a grass roots campaign to reverse a decision by the largest hospital system in the country to utilize only hospital-employed physicians, excluding community primary care physicians and hospitalists. The successful campaign mobilized patients and the community through person to person contact and media activity, including letter writing, petitions, posting yard signs and contributing personal funds to the campaign to pay for print and television advertisements. Collier County Medical Society also received the award for Advocacy: Under $2 million budget.

Advocacy: Over $2 million budget – Awarded to the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) for its Protecting Cognitive Care program which focused on defeating the proposed evaluation and management (E/M) cuts as proposed in the 2019 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule from Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). The full court press of holistic advocacy included regulatory advocacy, legislative advocacy, media relations and grassroots and provider activation took place from July to November 2018. The efforts, by AAN’s internal analysis, protected neurologists from more than $43 million in reimbursement cuts per year.

Communications: Over $2 million budget – Awarded to the Medical Association of Georgia for its Top Docs Radio program, which is a twice a month program where one host and consultant spend 20-30 minutes addressing key issues facing their members in a Q&A style program. Originating as a live, internet based radio show into a “Facebook videocast” reaching over 520,000 listeners/viewers since its inception. The objective of the program is to disseminate relevant and important information that enables members to make better decisions in an easy to consume format. 

Communications: Under $2 million budget – Awarded to the Montgomery County Medical Society for its Proud to be a Physician campaign, a recognition program that recognizes and celebrates physicians for their everyday contributions. To combat reported burnout in a recent survey, the program established physician collegiality dinners at area restaurants throughout the county, with the opportunity for peer to peer recognition through “toasts” and for physicians to share their stories that made them proud to be physicians.

Education: Over $2 million budget – Awarded to the Ohio State Medical Association for its Smart Rx program. The online learning experience, that is free for OSMA members, keeps prescribers in-step as Ohio continues to address the prescription drug abuse epidemic. 

Education: Under $2 million budget – Awarded to the Travis County Medical Society for its Physician Wellness Program Development Initiative. Born of a collaborative effort of 10 medical societies, the initiative gathered resources into one place, providing medical societies, regardless of size, the tools needed to create a physician wellness program. The initiative also provides educational opportunities for medical society staff to learn more about starting a wellness program and the importance of physician wellness.

Leadership: Over $2 million budget – Awarded to the Kentucky Medical Association for its Kentucky Physician Leadership Institute, a premier leadership training program for physicians in the state with the goal of cultivating the next generation of physician leaders across the state. The Institute consists of four primary events, culminating in the Kentucky Physicians Leadership Academy, helps address many of the challenges facing the physician community: communication, business, advocacy, and health care policy.

Membership: Over $2 million budget – Awarded to the Sierra Sacramento Valley Medical Society for its SSVMS Touch Plan program, an effort that focuses on successfully onboard, orient, and engage with new members. The program helped increase volunteerism and donations for the society’s nonprofit, improve participation in advocacy and grassroots effort, engagement in events and committees, and improve membership retention rates.

Membership: Under $2 million budget – Awarded to the Greater Louisville Medical Society (GLMS) for its Engaging and Investing in the Future of Organized Medicine program. The program focuses on engaging young physicians early in their career by providing support from veteran physicians and has resulted in engagement by their younger members on the GLMS boards.

For more information on the Profiles of Excellence Awards go to

The American Association of Medical Society Executives is a professional association for more than 1,300 medical society professionals throughout the country. AAMSE advances the profession of medicine through education, communication of knowledge, leadership development and collaboration.

MAG ‘Top Docs Radio’ library

From the left are MAG’s Ryan Larosa, Dayna Jackson, Mandi Milligan and Donald J. Palmisano Jr. with the AAMSE ‘Profiles of Excellence Award’ that MAG received for its ‘Top Docs Radio’ show.