MAG YPS vice chair & GPLA grad receives ACP honor

The American College of Physicians distributed the following press release on October 31…

Tracey L. Henry, M.D., MPH, MS, FACP, has been awarded the Walter J. McDonald Award for Early Career Physicians from the American College of Physicians (ACP), a national organization of internists. The award will be presented at ACP’s Convocation Ceremony on Thursday, April 23, 2020, at the Los Angeles Convention Center, where ACP is hosting its annual scientific conference, Internal Medicine Meeting 2020, through April 25.

Established by ACP’s Board of Regents in 2003, the award recognizes outstanding achievement by a physician member who is within 16 years of graduating medical school and who is not an ACP Medical Student Member or Resident/Fellow Member.

Dr. Henry is an assistant professor in Emory University’s Department of Medicine and a clinical educator and attending physician in both inpatient and outpatient medicine. She is assistant health director in the Grady Primary Care Center and director of policy curriculum for Emory’s Internal Medicine Residency Primary Care Track. She conducts research on health disparities, health policy, and primary care and behavioral health integration.

She earned her M.D. at Georgetown University and her MPH from Johns Hopkins University. She completed her residency at Ochsner Clinic Foundation in New Orleans. During residency, she served on ACP’s Council of Resident and Fellow Members and the Louisiana State Medical Society Board of Governors and was awarded the American Medical Association (AMA) Paul Ambrose Award for Leadership Among Resident Physicians. Dr. Henry also completed a health policy fellowship at Georgetown University, where she studied primary care-related health policies, health care delivery systems, and alternative payment models.

Dr. Henry has held many leadership roles, including serving on the American Medical Student Association’s Board of Regional Directors. She was selected as a 2017 Presidential Leadership Scholar, a national program designed for leaders from multi-sector backgrounds who share a commitment to solving society’s greatest challenges. Currently, she is vice chair of the Medical Association of Georgia’s Young Physician Section and she recently completed her term as the AMA representative to the National Board of Medical Examiners.

She also serves on ACP’s Health and Public Policy Committee at the national and local levels, ACP’s Council of Early Career Physicians, and she is a fellow of ACP. Fellowship is an honor achieved by those recognized by their peers for personal integrity, superior competence in internal medicine, professional accomplishment, and demonstrated scholarship.

Note: In addition to being the vice chair of the Medical Association of Georgia’s Young Physician Section, Dr. Henry is a graduate of the MAG Foundation’s Georgia Physicians Leadership Academy.