MAG’s CEO to become AAMSE president in 2020-2021

The American Association of Medical Society Executives distributed the following press release on July 30…

The American Association of Medical Society Executives (AAMSE), an organization dedicated to educating and supporting medical society professionals, announces their 2019 board, including a new president, at its annual conference in Pittsburgh.

The following AAMSE board officers were elected to serve from 2019 through 2020…

Steve Smith, MS, CAE – Elected to serve as the AAMSE president, Smith is currently the CEO and executive director for the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine at the Association Management Center in Chicago. He has previously served on the AAMSE board of directors as President-Elect and Secretary. He also chaired the AAMSE National Specialty Society CEO Committee in 2014 and the Annual Conference Planning Committee in 2015.

Donald Palmisano Jr., JD – Elected to serve as the AAMSE president elect, Palmisano is currently the CEO of the Medical Association of Georgia, a role he has served since 2010. Palmisano, of Atlanta, has been active in AAMSE since 2010, and he has served as the chair of the AAMSE State Medical Society CEO Committee from 2016-2017 and on the board of directors beginning in 2017.

Bryan Campbell – Elected to serve as AAMSE secretary/treasurer. Campbell currently serves as the CEO of the Duval County Medical Society in Jacksonville, Florida, and previously served as the Director of Public, Media and Industry Relations at the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists. Campbell has served as the chair of the AAMSE County CEO Committee since 2013, and participated in the AAMSE leadership committee and the annual meeting planning committee.

AAMSE members also elected colleagues to serve on the board of directors…

Clint Cummins – Cummins is the current CEO and executive vice president of the Memphis Medical Society, a role he has been serving in since 2016. Founded in 1876, the Memphis Medical Society serves over 9,000 physicians across Tennessee. He has been an active member of AAMSE for 3 years, previously serving on the County CEO Committee.

Kristin Olds Glavin, Esq. – Glavin is the executive director of the American Orthopedic Association, serving in this role since 2005 and previously serving as the association’s associate general counsel director. She has been an active member of AAMSE since 2008 and active within the National Specialty CEO group.

Jennifer Lawrence Hanscom – Hanscom is the executive director/CEO of the Washington State Medical Association in Seattle, working there since 1996 and serving in her current role over the past five years. Since the mid-1990s she has been an active member of AAMSE serving on the annual meeting conference committee, trends taskforce and nominating committee.

Catherine Johannesen – Johannesen is the chief of staff at MedChi, the Maryland State Medical Society in Baltimore, working there since 2001 and serving in her current role over the past year. She has been an active member of AAMSE for 5 years and chaired the 2019 Annual Conference in Pittsburgh.

Missy Lundberg – Lundberg is the associate director, PR and public education of American Academy of Dermatology, working at the Academy since 1998, she has been in her current role since 2012. She has been an active member of AAMSE for 12 years, previously serving as chair of the leadership committee.

Sylvia Salazar – Salazar is the associate vice president of membership and leadership development at the Texas Medical Association in Austin, which is the largest state medical association in the country. Salazar has served on the AAMSE nominating committee, the membership committee, and on the planning team for the annual state membership directors meeting and is an alumnus of the very first AAMSE leadership academy held in 2008.

Thomas Serena – Serena is currently the executive vice president of the American Gastroenterological Association in Bethesda, Maryland, which he joined in 1994 as the director of finance. First joining AAMSE in 2008, Serena has served as chair of the planning committees for the 2016 and 2017 AAMSE NS CEO Summit before joining the board.

Aileen Wetzel – Wetzel is the CEO and executive director of Sierra Sacramento Valley Medical Society, a position she has held since 2011. SSVMS is the oldest medical society in California, representing over 5,000 physicians and medical students. She has been an active member of AAMSE since 2002, previously serving on the Annual Conference Program Committee and the County CEO Committee.

Jeff Williams – Williams is the executive vice president and CEO of the Louisiana State Medical Society, a role he has held since 2010. Prior to assuming the CEO role, Williams served as the director of administration and CFO for the society from 2005 to 2010. Williams, of Baton Rouge, has been an active AAMSE member since 2006.

AAMSE is a professional association for more than 1,400 medical society professionals throughout the country. The membership base of AAMSE is comprised of local, state, and national medical specialty associations. AAMSE has forged a path for medical society professionals to take a leadership role in the field of medical society management and the community of medicine at large through collaboration and sharing of information, tools, and resources.

AAMSE website